top of page

Italian Vegetarian Spaghetti Squash

I love tackling a craving by making a satisfying paleo alternative! Last week was one of my friend's birthday and she went to a very nice Italian dinner with her boyfriend to celebrate! Ever since she told me about her meal, I have been craving some good homemade pasta, which is what inspired my dinners for this week. This recipe is vegetarian and paleo, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

The sauce starts with a skillet of chopped veggies. I begin with the onion and get it started in the pan while I chop the peppers and mushrooms.

After the vegetables have cooked through, approximately 5 minutes, I added the tomato sauce. I allowed the sauce to simmer with seasoning for approximately 10 minutes to soften.

This recipe makes 5-6 servings. For a small cheat or bonus, add a sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan cheese!

 

Ingredients

1 Spaghetti Squash

1 Green Pepper

1/2 Sweet Onion

7 oz Crimini Mushrooms

12 oz Organic Tomato Sauce

Sea Salt

Pepper

Italian Seasoning

Directions:

1. Pre heat oven to 350 degrees. Halve spaghetti squash and place face down on baking sheet. Bake for 40 minutes, or until soft.

2. While spaghetti squash is cooking, prepare the sauce. Chop onion and add to skillet on medium heat. Chop pepper and mushrooms and add to skillet. Saute for 5 minutes before adding tomato sauce. Add tomato sauce and seasoning and simmer for 10 minutes.

3. Allow spaghetti squash to cool before using a fork to pull apart the squash. Combine squash and sauce and serve!

 

Fit Tips

#1 

Talk about your goals! This gives you a network of support and someone to celebrate with when you get there!

 

#2

Be persistent! Miss a workout, or indulge in a treat? Don't let that get you down! Get right back on track, we all get off track sometimes!

 

#3

Push yourself! Set achievable goals, and review them every day. Meet your goal to work out 2 days/wk for 1 month? Up that to 3 next month!

© 2016 by Fit Pineapple HQ. 

bottom of page