top of page

Fitbit Charge 2 Review


A few weeks ago I invested in my health with the new Fitbit Charge 2. I have had a Fitbit Flex since 2014 and recently have been completing challenges with my MOH to keep us motivated throughout the week. Whenever that notification pops up telling me that I'm behind in my step count, I feel immediately motivated to get my sneakers on for a run or a walk with my puppy. I enjoy the friendly competitive atmosphere that the Fitbit challenges provide.

For the past few weeks I have been testing the different features of the Fitbit Charge 2 and thought that I would share my thoughts with you! So far I'm really enjoying the new features and finding the size/fit to be good. I decided on the plumb color because it will be more professional/subtle for work. Here are my thoughts on some key features:

 

1. Run Tracking

This is my #1 favorite addition to the fitbit! I love running, so this was naturally the first thing I wanted to try out when I got my Fitbit Charge 2. I tracked using my fitbit and the Runkeeper app. Both were within 0.1 miles of each other, which I would consider good for a 5k run. The watch will display what your phone is tracking, so you do need to have your phone on you and the fitbit app open. This isn't a hassle for me because I listen to music while I run. I like the interface. I usually leave it set on pace or distance display. You can easily flip between displays to see your pace, distance, heart rate, etc. I REALLY like the data that is tracked in the Fitbit App, but I'll get to that in a later section. I think that the only thing I don't love is that the display can be hard to see in bright sun. Overall, I'm very pleased with the capabilities offered by the Fitbit Charge 2 run tracker.

2. Heart Rate Monitor

This is new for me. Going from a flex to a fitbit that tracks your heart rate is a big change! First of all, I expected it to be less comfortable than it is. It fits like a watch, and the heart rate monitor does not feel bulky, metalic, or like it will make imprints on my wrist. I can't speak to the accuracy of this feature, but I have noticed that my resting heart rate is fairly constant day to day, and my peak heart rate during workouts looks reasonable. The part I've liked most about this feature is comparing my HR for long and short runs and getting an idea for targets I can set for my runs based on distance.

3. Breathing Exercises

This is a fun and simple feature that helps you to take 2 minutes to slow down, slow your breathing, and re focus. I've used this a few times at work, I have to say that it is more useful than I thought it would be!

4. Step Tracker/Reminders to Move

Same. Same. Nothing new here. Fitbit is king of step tracking. I really enjoy the workweek step challenges because they motivate me to take breaks, park further from the door, and take the stairs! The reminders to walk each hour are also really convenient. I like to get up, stretch my legs, and re focus; this feature is a great reminder to do that! The reminders tend to come at 10 'till the hour, I haven't figured out if there is a way to change that reminder time yet.

5. Interface/ App

The iPhone app is one of the main reasons that I wanted to stick with Fitbit. I briefly tried a tomtom running watch, but after using fitbit, the iPhone app for tomtom was so primitive! The fitbit app is user friendly, well designed, and logs a lot of history that I really like to see. The workout summaries plot your heart rate throughout your workout and shows the calories burned. For a run, you can also see a map of your run location, average pace and distance, and mile splits. There is a fun feature that allows you to export the summary of your workout as a banner at the bottom of a photo. The sleep plots and bedtime reminders are really helpful for people like me who tend to get engulfed in what they are doing. I can't tell you how many times I've started cleaning and then the next thing I knew, it was 2 am!

As far as the watch interface, I find it cute and simple. I like that the motion of moving my arm towards my eyes will turn on the watch screen. The options for the home display are simple and professional. The display is a good size to fit the information that is put on it. As I mentioned before, I have occasionally found it difficult to see in bright sunlight.

 

In summary, I highly recommend this product. The key features for me are the running tracker, app interface, and the step tracker/challenges. Each of these features are well done in my opinion. I like how sleek and easy to use it is. I have had this watch for almost 1 month now and am still satisfied with the product.

Fit Tips

#1 

Talk about your goals! This gives you a network of support and someone to celebrate with when you get there!

 

#2

Be persistent! Miss a workout, or indulge in a treat? Don't let that get you down! Get right back on track, we all get off track sometimes!

 

#3

Push yourself! Set achievable goals, and review them every day. Meet your goal to work out 2 days/wk for 1 month? Up that to 3 next month!

bottom of page