top of page

Summer Turkey Dinner

I have had a turkey in my freezer for a few months and finally decided it has been long enough since Thanksgiving to make another turkey! Cooking a turkey is an all day affair. I wouldn't normally do it on the weekend, because I love any excuse to get outside, but this rainy weekend was the perfect time to stay in and cook! I decided to make the sides a little more summer-y; roasted purple potatoes, whole grain quinoa, and broccoli. I also created my own recipe for the turkey. Check out my recipe below!

I'm still loving this planner and doing my best to stay on track with my daily bible while I eat dinner!

 

Ingredients

1 15lb Turkey

2 Red Apples

1/2 Sweet Onion

1/2 Cup Red Wine (I chose a merlot)

Olive Oil

Sage

Thyme

Herbs de Providence

Recipe

1. Prepare turkey in your preferred method.

2. Slice onions and red apples and pack inside turkey cavity.

3. Add red wine to turkey cavity for added moisture.

4. Brush the outside of the turkey with Olive Oil and sprinkle with dried herbs of your choice.

5. Braise the turkey at 500 deg for 30 minutes. Bake at 350 deg for 2-2.5 hours (or as instructed based on the weight of your turkey). Be sure to use a meat thermometer to ensure turkey is fully cooked to 160 deg.

 

Fit Tips

#1 

Talk about your goals! This gives you a network of support and someone to celebrate with when you get there!

 

#2

Be persistent! Miss a workout, or indulge in a treat? Don't let that get you down! Get right back on track, we all get off track sometimes!

 

#3

Push yourself! Set achievable goals, and review them every day. Meet your goal to work out 2 days/wk for 1 month? Up that to 3 next month!

bottom of page