top of page

White Bean and Turkey Sausage Soup


I was inspired to make this soup by the leftovers in my fridge and the shiny new le Creuset Dutch Oven from my wedding registry! New kitchen tools are my favorite excuse to put together a new recipe! I was really happy with how the Dutch Oven cooked the soup. I used it to saute the vegetables and then add the remaining soup ingredients on top! The pot heated quickly and evenly, and was easy to clean after using. I've included my recipe below.

Saute green peppers and onion.

Add vegetable broth and beans and simmer.

The delicious finished product!

 

Ingredients:

1 Sweet Onion

2 Green Peppers

2 Diced Tomatoes

4 cups Vegetable Broth

1 cup Great Northern Beans

Turkey Sausage

Instructions:

1. Saute chopped onion and green peppers with olive oil.

2. Add vegetable broth and great northern beans (sorted and soaked). Add salt and

pepper. Simmer for 1 hour.

3. Add turkey sausage and tomatoes and simmer for 3-4 hours, or until beans are tender.

5. Season to taste. I added crushed red pepper and herb de providence for added flavor.

Fit Tips

#1 

Talk about your goals! This gives you a network of support and someone to celebrate with when you get there!

 

#2

Be persistent! Miss a workout, or indulge in a treat? Don't let that get you down! Get right back on track, we all get off track sometimes!

 

#3

Push yourself! Set achievable goals, and review them every day. Meet your goal to work out 2 days/wk for 1 month? Up that to 3 next month!

bottom of page