top of page

Monogram Pocket Tank


Today I was working on completing my bridesmaids' gifts! I wanted to get us all monogramed tank tops to get ready for the wedding in! (I know.. everyone does that..) So I was browsing Etsy to find Just the right ones (there are SO many to chose from!). Every time I thought I found the ones, I would look at the price tag and be immediately disappointed. I have 6 bridesmaids and myself; 7 tank tops to buy. At roughly $20 a pop, that adds up fast. So what do I do? -Start brainstorming ways that I can make them!

I started out with some sewing machine embroidery youtube videos. I have a pretty simple machine, so my only option is free-handing the embroidery. While I don't doubt I could figure it out, I once again began to realize how much time 7 of these shirts would take. Time is a precious thing when the count-down is at 20 days!!!

On to the next idea- iron-on embroidered monograms! I've included some simple supplies, and instructions below, this project is SUPER simple and they came out so well! In total, each shirt cost $9 and about 5 minutes to make!

Supplies:

Pocket Tank Top (I found these at Walmart)

Embroidered Monogram Iron-ons (I found these at Hobby Lobby)

Scrap Fabric (light weight)

Iron (I used the light cotton setting; 300-350 deg)

Instructions:

1. Open each of the 3 monogram pieces and lay them out carefully on the pocket (glue side down).

2. When you are happy with the placement, cover the letters with the scrap fabric. Move the iron over the monogram for 10 seconds. Repeat 3 times.

3. Do not leave the iron on for too long, or use too high of a setting or you can burn the fabric/embroidery like I did the first time!

4. Let the fabric cool and then repeat heating the iron-on from the inside of the shirt.

5. Let the fabric cool again before testing how well the iron-on adhered to the fabric.

6. Most embroidered iron-ons will recommend washing on a cold, delicate cycle and hanging to dry.

Fit Tips

#1 

Talk about your goals! This gives you a network of support and someone to celebrate with when you get there!

 

#2

Be persistent! Miss a workout, or indulge in a treat? Don't let that get you down! Get right back on track, we all get off track sometimes!

 

#3

Push yourself! Set achievable goals, and review them every day. Meet your goal to work out 2 days/wk for 1 month? Up that to 3 next month!

bottom of page